NEWPORT – This town is the latest to issue a curfew in preparation for Hurricane Dorian.

According to Newport Mayor Dennis Barber, the curfew starts at 7 p.m. Thursday and will last until further notice. Mayor Barber said the curfew was put into effect to keep people off the roads and allow emergency personnel to do their jobs after the storm. 

For more information on the town's emergency response, follow them on Facebook.

Other towns have placed curfews, as well. 

Effective at 7 p.m. Thursday, access to Atlantic Beach will be restricted until further notice. Only essential personnel will be permitted on public roadways. During the curfew, it is illegal for anyone to leave their own property and travel within Atlantic Beach.

The curfew will remain in effect until further notice, and town hall will be closed Thursday and Friday.

Carteret County has set a curfew beginning Thursday for all unincorporated areas. Residents are required to be indoors from dusk to dawn, according to the Thursday release from emergency management. The curfew will remain in effect until further notice.
A curfew will go into effect for Cape Carteret beginning at 6 p.m. Thursday.
Access is also restricted to Emerald Isle and the rest of Bogue Banks. A mandatory evacuation was put in place, effective starting 8 a.m. Wednesday. For those who remained, a town-wide curfew starts at 7 p.m. Thursday
Morehead City announced their curfew starts at 7 p.m. Thursday.

Beaufort's curfew is dusk to dawn starting Thursday. 

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.